An old friend returns

17 01 2013

For those of you who have been following my blog from the very beginning, you will know that it was started as a day to day recording of the adventures, and often mishaps, of the camera trap, (a device where the animal breaks an invisible beam that then triggers the camera), I had setup in various locations around the African bush.  If you are new to the blog, you now know how it started.  The blog has changed shape a little over the years, but the camera trap kept clicking away in the background, doing what it does best: providing a unique look into the African bush, often from right next to the animal it photographs.

 

I am delighted to let you know, that the BBC Wildlife Magazines website, found my camera trap images, and ran a gallery on their site, showcasing the photographs.  It is always rewarding and exciting to see your images presented on a site that carries such weight in the industry I work in.

 

I have many exciting stories from when I have been to set the trap up, or gone back to check the images, but I will leave you with the one that stands out the most to me.

I had stopped next to the river where the trap was set, grabbed my gear and started the hundred-meter walk to the traps secret location.  When I was about thirty meters away, I saw a female leopard standing on a small sand ridge directly above the trap.  She saw me at the same moment, and slinked off through the trap – success, I thought, and even better, I (sort of) got to see the trap in action! I waited twenty or so minutes to give the leopard time to leave the area (as surprises of that nature are not always fantastic), and made my way down to the trap with the excitement and expectation of a child on Christmas morning.  Slowly looking over the sandy ridge where the leopard was standing only a few minutes earlier, I was heart broken not to see the trap.  There were plenty of elephants footprints however, and tracks showing how they had kicked and dismantled the trap, literally to pieces.  Still upset over missing the leopard image, I went about finding the pieces of the trap.  They had been spread quite a distance down the riverbank, but I did find everything.  I think I muttered and moaned the whole way back to camp, thinking of new ways to outsmart the elephants, but it was all forgotten when I checked the images on the camera.

 

Have a look through the gallery below, and see if you can find the (final) image from that day!

To join me on safari, click here!

 

 

Actions

Information

9 responses

17 01 2013
BB

Unbelievable! You are truly gifted! Keep up the wonderful work!

17 01 2013
kurtjaybertels

Thank you!

17 01 2013
Paula Nyman (@pjn1958)

These are so awesome Jay! You set your traps well because the photos are so spot on in focus and direction! Thanks for sharing!

17 01 2013
kurtjaybertels

Thanks Paula! It took many attempts before I got it right, which makes it all so much more rewarding! Glad you enjoyed them!

17 01 2013
Zane Engelbrecht

Awesome camera trap images mate seriously well done i am jelous!

17 01 2013
kurtjaybertels

Thanks Zane! Always nice to hear!

21 01 2013
Peter

That is fantastic. Can I sign up for camera trap lessons…

17 05 2013
exoticpetshq

Congratulations! You must feel proud. You have some amazing pictures on this site. I can only imagine the excitement you must get when you are getting ready to see what your camera caught for the first time!

Jimmy

17 05 2013
kurtjaybertels

Thanks Jimmy! It is some of the most fun wildlife photography has given me!

Leave a Reply

