Botswana

30 11 2009

I have finally had a look at the photographs I took in Botswana, and grabbed a few for you guys to have a look at!

The entire trip was fantastic, (as I said in an earlier post, it was my first time to really get stuck into Bots), and I am really happy with the results!

We started off with a couple days in the Makgadigadi Pans National Park, which was great for me, because I had never seen the pans.  They are as flat as I imagined…  It is a great sight to see, to be surrounded by literally nothing, but photographically, it was quite a challange, because there is literally nothing to contrast the vast expanse against!  The pans were not all that close to the camp site we were at, so we didn’t have too much time to play around.  On the way back to the camp however, we found the 40 000 zebra we went there to see!  They were very spead out, so there was not too much action on the go, but still great to see!

We moved further north for the next few days, to the Khwai river.  This little gem is a very well kept secret!  The camp site is simple, and I mean simple, but adds to the flavour of the area!

It really is wild up there!  We had elephants, hyaena’s, and hippos, as well as an array of other animals through the camp on a daily basis!  The lions ended up sleeping about 500 meters from the camp for the final 2 days, which was pretty sweet!  Keeping in mind that the camp is unfenced, and we were all in tents, it left a few members of the party a little more than nervous!

I am still short some of the picutres I took, due to technical difficulties, and I will add those as soon as I get them back, (hopefully I get them back…)

In the group of images that I don’t have, are some of the best of the trip!  I finally got to see Pump Pan, in Savuti, which is the setting of one my favourite shots by Nigel Dennis.  The famous elephant eating lions were not at the pan when I was there, but the elphants certainly were!  There was a continus stream of the grey giants, coming from far and wide, to and from the waterhole!  Great to see!  As I say, I will try get those pictures up asap!  Coupled with the Savuti photographs, are the images I took in Chobe – another dream destination!  There are some above average pictures from that collection as well, but none to see today!

 

So there you have a small selection of the images from Botswana.

I must pass on a huge thank you to Hilton Kotze, for taking me with on the trip!  It was fantastic!

I start regular game drives again tomorrow evening, so with a bit of luck, I will be able to pop up some goodies in a few days!

Actions

Information

One response

26 12 2009
Jason & Sarah King

Excellent pictures Kurt! Every time we view your pictures we began to miss Africa. Your trip to Botswana looked amazing. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

